Jasmine Masters, Social Media, and Why Mean People Suck

Jasmine Master’s is a sweetheart.

So I’m a fan of RuPaul’s Drag Race.  I love the pageantry, the illusion, and the possibilities that drag presents.  If a man can beat his face, throw on a wig, and fake boobs and look like this:

Jasmine Masters

the rest of us have no excuses for why we can’t look good on a Saturday night.

Overall watching the show has been a very positive thing for me.  I’ve learned some makeup contouring tricks, I’ve experimented with hair pieces, and I’ve had a real blast.  Over the years tho I’ve seen the fans become some crazy ass manic group of people and what was once fun and cozy is like OVER IT.

Jasmine made some comments in the confessional that got edited for maximum drama and suddenly shes getting death threats from idiots on Twitter and Tumblr.  I’m watching this shit go down daily and I cannot believe the lack of sense from people who are watching a show that is about men in wigs and high heels.  You’d think Jasmine slapped their mothers.

Jasmine has friended me on Twitter (didn’t have to), has answered questions, been kind and acts like a normal human with human feelings.  I see no reason for the hate and yet she is still is given absolute shit from what is most-likely a bunch of sixteen year old twinks and girls who can’t get the cute boy in their class to notice them so they spread their bitter shit around like manure.

At what point do we admit as a society that we have gone off the rails?  Sending death threats to a drag queen over a reality TV show?  Damn people!

I don’t know if you guys watch RuPaul’s Drag Race, if you are on Twitter, etc, but send some positive love out for her and let her know that she’s a beautiful human deserving of love.

Leave a Reply

