Why Writing Can’t Be Only Worth $5

I wrote a post today on my nicer, gentler blog about this subject.  See HERE to read.

I used to be a fiction snob.  I knew that fiction has the power to transport you.  It’s a magic spell really that carries you off to another land and you no longer exist in this one while you’re there.  I would easily pay $50 for the next book in the Song of Ice and Fire series or if Stephen King got off his ass and made another Stand–$50 he could have for the ride alone.

I just never really thought that way about business writing even though I was easily paid that amount and over by my former company.

The truth is all writing is worth more than $5, not just the kind that’s actually fun to write.  If I’m going to be honest I should be paid far more for business writing because it’s loathsome to do which is why when you really nail it, you’ve accomplished something.

Fiction writing is ego and its fun.  Writing for customers is a discipline.

Leave a Reply

