Real Outrage Versus Selective Outrage: The Duggars

So I was on DListed reading the latest in the Josh Duggar fuckery and have to say that why I love Michael K of Dlisted is that he holds the same opinions on people regardless of their politics.  If something is wrong he makes fun of it, whether it is Lena Dunham confessing to touching her younger sister’s vajayjay and kissing her inappropriately to Brian Singer’s alleged underage twink party he’s always on the side of the victims.  I like consistency and real outrage.  So when I was reading his take down of the latest Dugger BS I could totally stomach it because he always knows that kids should be protected from fucktards, regardless of their political or religious affiliation.

So back to real outrage, back when Jim Bob Duggar was running for Senate in Arkansas he said that anyone who commits the incest should be executed.

Executed.  Of course this was six years before their own son did it.   Today, they sing a different tune.  This is their statement on their Facebook page:

From Jim Bob and Michelle:

Back 12 years ago our family went through one of the most difficult times of our lives. When Josh was a young teenager, he made some very bad mistakes and we were shocked. We had tried to teach him right from wrong. That dark and difficult time caused us to seek God like never before. Even though we would never choose to go through something so terrible, each one of our family members drew closer to God. We pray that as people watch our lives they see that we are not a perfect family. We have challenges and struggles everyday. It is one of the reasons we treasure our faith so much because God’s kindness and goodness and forgiveness are extended to us — even though we are so undeserving. We hope somehow the story of our journey — the good times and the difficult times — cause you to see the kindness of God and learn that He can bring you through anything.

God can.  This is true.  God also probably wouldn’t have wanted you to take TLC up on their offer, however, knowing that this could come out and knowing that people can count how many younger female siblings you have and now automatically know an experience that to them was frightening and shameful.

Pedophilia is like heterosexuality and homosexuality.  It is hardwired.  A gay man can have sex with a woman, but they prefer men and will go back to men.  A belief in God can motivate you to lose weight, not drink, or not cheat again, but will it change the desire?  Marrying a gay man would be difficult for me because I would know he’s still thinking of men even if he’s committed to not straying.  Marrying someone who diddled kids and then having kids with them is like begging for trouble.  His wife’s “take” on the situation:

I can imagine the shock many of you are going through reading this. I remember feeling that same shock. It was not at the point of engagement, or after we were married – it was two years before Josh asked me to marry him. When my family and I first visited the Duggar Home, Josh shared his past teenage mistakes. I was surprised at his openness and humility and at the same time didn’t know why he was sharing it. For Josh he wanted not just me but my parents to know who he really was — even every difficult past mistakes. At that point and over the next two years, Josh shared how the counseling he received changed his life as he continued to do what he was taught. And when you, our sweet fans, first met me when Josh asked me to marry him… I was able to say, “Yes” knowing who Josh really is – someone who had gone down a wrong path and had humbled himself before God and those whom he had offended. Someone who had received the help needed to change the direction of his life and do what is right. I want to say thank you to those who took time over a decade ago to help Josh in a time of crisis. Your investment changed his life from going down the wrong path to doing what is right. If it weren’t for your help I would not be here as his wife — celebrating 6 1/2 years of marriage to a man who knows how to be a gentleman and treat a girl right. Thank you to all of you who tirelessly work with children in crisis, you are changing lives and I am forever grateful for all of you.

Now, I believe in the power of Christ, I do.  I really do, but I also understand temptation.  Does anyone believe that his wife would allow him to go to bars if he was a former alcoholic saved by Christ?  How about go to a strip club?  So why put him around children?

I don’t believe in casual sex but put me in a room with a naked Kit Harington and watch that change.

I believe that God has forgiven him.  I believe even his siblings have forgiven him.  Would I trust him around children?  Nope.  Which is why he needs time in a pit with hungry bears.

It will be like in Roman times.  If God favors him the bears will not be able to eat him.

Real outrage is putting him and Lena in the same bear pit…with Roman short swords, of course…and seeing whom the gods favor.

I also agree with Michael K’s take on this one:

Jim Bob lost the Republican nomination. Josh Duggar is also still alive.

It’s really not surprising that when his own committed incest, Jim Bob went from“Death to those evil incest doers” to “Oh, I’ll just ask Officer McPedoFlicks over there to give him a stern talking to” real quick. It’s just one of those things that after you read, you shrug and think to yourself, “That’s so Duggar.” But I have learned something new about the Duggars, specifically Michelle.

I used to think that Michelle’s curly fries and tidal wave bang hair looked like that because she covered it with homemade gel and enough hairspray to kill a bull. But now I know that it looks like that because it’s full of dark-sided secrets!
Leave a Reply

