The More I Hear from the Duggars the More Pissed I Get

So I was reading US and they gave us this quote (it came from Facebook) from Josh Duggar:

Twelve years ago, as a young teenager, I acted inexcusably for which I am extremely sorry and deeply regret. I hurt others, including my family and close friends, We spoke with the authorities where I confessed my wrongdoing, and my parents arranged for me and those affected by my actions to receive counseling. I understood that if I continued down this wrong road that I would end up ruining my life… I would do anything to go back to those teen years and take different actions. I sought forgiveness from those I had wronged and asked Christ to forgive me and come into my life. In my life today, I am so very thankful for God’s grace, mercy and redemption

The part that pissed me off to no end, that really disturbs my ass is where he says: I understood that if I continued down this wrong road I would end up ruining my life.
YOUR LIFE???  He hasn’t changed.  Period.  If he can’t say something like “I abused my sisters and if I continued down that path I would end up ruining even more lives” then maybe he’s changed, but when it is still said in terms of how it would effect him–nope.
As a Christian it is these idiots, these absolute fucking self-centered, self-righteous idiots which make all of the rest of us look bad, and Jesus.  Nowhere does Jesus, that Messiah guy, say that women ought to be a slave.  On the contrary he said in Heaven we are all spirits, which is a huge equality comment.  Our spirits have no sex.  We are people of spirit.  This is why Protestants (and the Old RCC) used to cling so much to Paul because he brought back all that Jewish tradition of women being chattel.
Grrrr.  I understood that if I continued down this wrong road I would end up ruining my life.
I also noticed that in the family’s statement not one of them touches their hard on crime stance that applies to everyone else except members of their own family, I guess.
IF this family learned anything at all and if they want to honor Christ they would also acknowledge that they have been judgmental and that this event has made them realize that mercy should extend to everyone, not just their kids.  Black guys who smoked weed, shoplifters, and other people out there who did nothing violent and end up in jail.  Their son got a free pass from jail, and I would think that this would create some humility and mercy for others.
Leave a Reply

